Random Campus/Student Photo

UDC-CC Students Inducted Into Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society


Washington, DC - The UDC Community College recognized over 70 of its best and brightest students at its 2nd induction ceremony of the Beta Sigma Upsilon Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) on Monday, April 4, 2011. Phi Theta Kappa is the official international honor society for community colleges. A keynote address was delivered by Kwame R. Brown, Chairman of the Council of the District of Columbia. In his address, he committed to ensuring that all eligible students, regardless of financial background, would be able to join PTK.

Each PTK inductee exemplifies the four hallmarks essential to receive this honor: scholarship, leadership, fellowship and service. Academic excellence is matched and often surpassed by these inductees’ willingness to share their time and talents with the community. To be eligible for Phi Theta Kappa, students must earn a grade point average (GPA) of 3.5 and have completed at least 12 credit hours of college-level work at UDC-CC. To remain a member of PTK, students must maintain 3.0 GPA. UDC-CC’s chapter now has over 90 students, representing over 30% of eligible students.

New Members (as of April 18, 2011):

Ayja Allen
May Al-Najjar
Tchadjeu Monthe Bertin
Darlene Blackson
Erica Blake
Veronica Blay-Kenya
Melaku Bogale
James Bryant
Alicia Burke
Ashley Carey
Sylwia Chodun
Damia Davis
Jason Deering
Elisabet Diaz Sanmartin
Ricardo Dickens
Peggy Edwards
Gizachew Elcho
Hazelann Ezell
Elizabeth Fedden
Latrail Gatlin
Frederick Golatt
Tiffany Harrington
Julissa Hernandez
Elijah Hobbs
Arnetta Jackson
Kendra Jackson
Shane Johnson
Bharosha Kc
Kidist Kidane
Jacquelyn King
Anitra Lane
Srijana Magar
Noelia Magowan
Dahlia Mansour
Khalid Miller
Shraddha Moktan
David Moody
Michael Moore
Nicole Moore
Aris Morrison
Amr Moustafa
Judith Mutinda
Wendyam Nacambo
Jane Nkwo
Diana Ofunwa
Gaston Padilla Sixto
Sonija Parson
Lisa Pegram
Maria Perez
Laquisha Person
Jourgette Reid-Sillah
Maresa Roach
Courtney Rogers
Viktoriya Shcheglova
Terri Lynn Short
Thierry Sileu
Ronald Simpson
Fanny Sinani Berna
Terrence Smith
Ana Spoljaric
Tonisha Steward
Pauline Tchibinda Medou
Thuy Thach
Anita Tongue
Hung Vo
Christiana Williams
Demi Williams
Donielle Williams
Virginia Wilson
Stephen Young

Jesse B Rauch, Advisor 

Connie Souder, Advisor

# # #

As the only urban land-grant institution in the United States, the University of the District of Columbia (www.udc.edu) supports a broad mission of education, research and community service across all member colleges and schools, which include the Community College, the College of Agriculture, Urban Sustainability and Environmental Sciences (CAUSES), the College Arts & Sciences, the School of Business and Public Administration, the School of Engineering and Applied Science and the David A. Clarke School of Law.




Apply for Admission

Admission Deadlines

Fall - May 15
Spring - October 15
Summer - April 15

International Applicant Deadlines

Fall - April 15
Spring - September 15
Summer - March 15

UDC Community College | Washington, DC 20002 | 202.274.5800
Feedback / Webmaster | Privacy | Copyright © 2016 All Rights Reserved | Site Map